October 2014
CM 2014 Del-6

Agenda item 6

Elections and Appointments

Advisory Committee Vice-Chair

Council will be invited to approve, based on the nomination by ACOM, a one – year prolongation of ACOM Vice-Chair, Carmen Fernandez.

Rules of Procedure¹

Rule 30 (iii)

The Chair and Vice-Chair(s) of the Advisory Committee shall be nominated by the Advisory Committee and appointed by the Council. The Chair and Vice Chair(s) shall hold office for a term of three years, with the possibility of a one year extension, subject to approval by the Council. They shall assume office on the first day of January next following their election. They shall not be eligible for re-election for the immediately succeeding term.).

Vice-Presidents

Council is invited to nominate and elect four new Vice-presidents. Vice-Presidents Fritz Köster (DK), Fred Serchuk (US), Tore Nepstad (NO), and Carmela Porteiro (ES), will all have completed their terms at the end of 2014.

Rules of Procedure

Rule 11 (ii)

Any other Vice-President shall be elected for a period of three years and shall not be eligible for re-election for the immediately succeeding term.

Rule 5

- iv) For election to the office of President, First Vice-President, Vice-President or Chair or Vice-Chair of a Committee a candidate who secures votes numbering more than half the number of Contracting Parties represented at the meeting at which the vote is taken, shall be declared elected. If no candidate secures the number of votes required for election, then:
 - (a) if there are only two candidates, voting shall be continued until a candidate is elected;
 - (b) if there are three or more candidates, the candidate receiving the lowest number of votes shall be eliminated and voting continued in accordance with this paragraph until a candidate is elected, provided that if there are two or more candidates receiving the lowest number of votes it shall be decided by separate vote which candidate shall be eliminated

2 | October 2014

 ${f v}$) If the offices of two or more Vice-Presidents have to be filled at the same meeting separate votes shall be taken for each office and

vi) At any time not more than one member of the Bureau shall be from the same member country

(Currently Bureau consists of President Paul Connolly, Ireland, First-Vice President Cornelius Hammer, Germany and Piotr Margonski, Poland)

Council delegate member of the Award Committee

Council is invited to appoint a new delegate member to the Awards Committee to replace Fredrik Arrhenius, Sweden.

ICES Recognition Programme (CM 2006 Del-20)

The Council endorsed the proposed Recognition Programme consisting of a Service Award, Merit Award, Outstanding Achievement Award, and the ICES Prix d Excellence Award. The ICES Awards Committee will manage the ICES Recognition Programme with administrative support from the Secretariat. The Awards Committee will consist of the following members: The Chair and one other Delegate to be appointed by Council from among the Delegates, three members appointed by the Consultative Committee of which there should be a least one person a member of ConC. In the event, Ed Houde (USA) and Carmela Porteiro (Spain) were appointed to the Awards Committee.

Current composition of the awards committee:

Council members: Pierre Petitgas (Chair) and vacant (member).

SCICOM members: Begoña Santos (Spain), Henn Ojaveer (Estonia), and Daniel Duplisea (Canada)